Give Donate Foundation

Leading Baylor St. Luke's to Magnet Recognition

Magnet Conference 2017_Ward-Herman Candice.png

Magnet designation is a key indicator of nursing excellence at a hospital, and Baylor St. Luke’s Medical Center was the first facility in Texas to receive that honor, going on to achieve the award four consecutive times. The American Academy of Nursing developed the Magnet Program in the 1980s to address the nursing shortage. The AANC looked at how to best attract and retain highly qualified nurses and used those factors to develop the Magnet designation. Only a handful of hospitals (8 percent) in the United States have the Magnet designation, with fewer than 2 percent achieving the award multiple times. Candice Herman, PhD(c), RN, NEA-BC is leading the way to Baylor St. Luke’s fifth Magnet program designation. As the hospital’s Magnet Program director, Candice is an innovator and a leader who has been involved with Magnet certification for nearly 15 years. She is passionate about the nursing work environment and has presented her work on nursing engagement at multiple local, state, and national conferences.